August 22, 2006

Fields Medalists.

The winners of Fields medal were announced today at the International Congress of Mathematicians. As expected, Grigory Perelman and Terence Tao got the award. Two more were also awarded: Andrei Okounkov and Wendelin Werner. And also, I suppose as expected, Perelman refused the prize. However, he will henceforth be counted as a Fields medalist in the mathematical community.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]